December 11, 2010 – Albany, NY

Capitol Chamber Artists: Lisztomania - Ferenc Liszt - 200th birthday anniversary
19:00 - Public Welcome
Westminster Presbyterian Church (map)
262 State Street
Albany, NY, USA 12210
Other Info
Andre O'Neil, cello, piano, gamba; Al Fedak, organ; Irvin Gilman, flute; Mary Lou Saetta, violin

Composer Franz Liszt is the inspiration for Capitol Chamber Artists’ 2010-2011 season titled LISZTOMANIA. Liszt’s previously unpublished music for violin, piano and organ is featured on this concert. Dedicated to one of his patrons, Marie Moukhanoff, Liszt’s PREMIERE ELEGIE was originally titled LULLABY FOR THE GRAVE. The SECOND ELEGIE was dedicated to Lina Ramann, who had written an article about the FIRST ELEGIE. In 2006 the Instituto Liszt in Bologna acquired a previously unknown manuscript of the organ part written by Liszt in 1878 intended to be performed with the violin and piano part. This work was first published just this past summer (2010). This is a premiere performance. The Liszt violin, piano and organ music is rich, dramatic, moving and virtuosic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.